Infrastructure & Planning

This directorate’s focus is the planning of infrastructure, development planning and control, property management, environmental management, building control and the corporate GIS system. This directorate consists of a Director, Deputy-Director, Engineering Services, Environmental Services, Town Planning, Building Control, Solid Waste and Electricity Services.

This directorate consists of the following departments:

  • Engineering, which is responsible for the master planning for water, sewerage, roads, stormwater and electricity; management of grant funding; compilation of service agreements for new developments and overviewing studies for desalination and groundwater extraction.

  • Town planning and property administration, aimed at ensuring balanced and orderly development.

  • Building control, responsible for approval of building plans and ensuring their correct execution; compiling building statistics and project management of municipal building projects.

  • Electricity – supplying reliable, affordable and cost-effective electricity.

  • Water and transportation services, mainly responsible for potable water treatment and distribution. Solid waste management planning which is involved with refuse removal, recycling and disposal to the Karwyderskraal and Gansbaai landfill sites.

  • Environmental Section, responsible for the management of municipal nature conservation areas and environmental projects; liaison with the public, donors and conservation-related government departments and NGOs and advising council and officials on environmental matters.

  • Geographic information system (GIS), which creates, analyses, manages and integrates computerised spatial information.


Mon – Fri: 07:45 – 13:00 & 13:45 – 16:30
Cashiers: 08:00 -13:00 & 13:45 – 15:00

Website Developed and Maintained: Maxitec Internet Services Copyright © Maxitec Internet Services | All Right Reserved