Cliff Path members honour late David Beattie with bench

Cliff Path members honour late David Beattie with bench

The late David Beattie, founding member of the Cliff Path Management Group (CPMG) in 2002, was honoured by the standing members on Saturday, 4 February 2023, who presented the Beattie family with a newly constructed bench in his memory.

The bench is situated in Kwaaiwater between Siever’s Point and Mossel River where the original bench footprint belonging to the Beattie family now reflects three generations on the new structure.

The small ceremony was marked by the presence of David’s wife Jane Beattie and their two children Ian and Jennifer. Councillor Kari Brice, Historian Robin Lee and CPMG Chairman, Ross Dewar and his team Tania Pretorius, Jan Cilliers and Lauren Rainbird were also present.

Ward 3 Councillor, Alderlady Kari Brice, who has served on the group since its inception, shared memories of David’s invaluable contribution to the Cliff Path, while Robin Lee and Ross Dewar gave interesting input regarding the history of the Cliff Path.

Sitting on the bench in honour of the late David Beattie are son Ian Beattie (left), Cllr Kari Brice, daughter Jen Beattie and wife Jane Beattie.

Under David’s leadership they accomplished the following over many years, to name but a few:

  • 12 km of cliff path were rebuilt, mostly in exposed aggregate concrete, and widened from 60cm to 1.2 metres
  • At a cost of over R3.1 million funded by private contributions: 62%, Overstrand Municipality: 36% and interest on bank account: 2%
  • Coastal vegetation is now largely alien free
  • Wheelchair/pushchair-friendly: New Harbour to Protea Road; Mollergren to Kwaaiwater; Hoy’s Koppie contour paths (over 9 km in all)
  • 5 boardwalk bridges constructed to enable wheelchair usage and increase safety
  • Piet-se-Bos paths upgraded, and 4 sections of boardwalk and signage added
  • 25 information signs environmentally compatible

CPMG is mandated in terms of a co-management agreement with the Overstrand Municipality to advise and manage the upgrading and maintenance of the cliff path.

Those attending the small ceremony included Robin Lee (left), Ross Dewar, Lauren Rainbird, Tania Pretorius, Jane Beattie, Cllr Kari Brice, Jan Cilliers and Ian Beattie.
Previous Road Status Update: R44 Clarence Drive re-opened to traffic

Mon – Fri: 07:45 – 13:00 & 13:45 – 16:30
Cashiers: 08:00 -13:00 & 13:45 – 15:00

Website Developed and Maintained: Maxitec Internet Services Copyright © Maxitec Internet Services | All Right Reserved