

Cllr Archie Klaas (DA)

Overstrand Executive Mayor



Ald Elnora Gillion

MMC for Planning & Development and Overstrand Deputy Mayor



# KNOW YOUR COUNCIL 2025/26

The Speaker of a municipal council presides at meetings of the council; performs the duties and exercises the powers delegated to the Speaker in terms of section 59 of the Local Government: Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act No. 32 of 2000); [Para. (b) amended by s. 14 (a) of Act No. 51



The Speaker



during meetings; must ensure compliance in the council and council committees with the Code of Conduct set out in Schedule 7 to the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998).

The Speaker must further ensure that council meetings are conducted in accordance with the rules and orders of the council.

### Overstrand and its wards

- 1. Stanford, Thembelihle
- 2. Gansbaai North-East, Masakhane
- 3. Hermanus and Voëlklip
- Mount Pleasant, portion of Westcliff, Hemel-en-Aarde Valley
- . Zwelihle
- 6. Zwelihle
- 7. Sandbaai, Hemel-en-Aarde Estate
- 8. Fisherhaven, Hawston
- 9. Kleinmond, Mountain View, Palmiet, Proteadorp, Beverly Hills, Ext 6
- 10. Pringle Bay, Overhills, Rooi-Els, Mooi-Uitsig, Betty's Bay
- 11. Baardskeerdersbos, Eluxolweni, Pearly Beach, Buffeljachtbaai, Franskraal
- 12. Zwelihle
- 13. Onrus, Vermont
- 14. Blompark, De Kelders, Gansbaai South-West, Van Dyksbaai

Thirteen of the twenty-seven councillors represent political parties on a proportional basis. This means that residents of Overstrand can also use political channels to bring matters to Council's attention. Six political parties are represented: the Democratic Alliance (DA), the African National Congress (ANC), the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP), Freedom Front Plus (FF+) and

DA 17 | ÁNC 4 | FF+ 2 | LP 2 | ACDP 1 | EFF 1

## Ward and Proportional Councillors

**Cllr Ronald Nutt** 

(DA)

**MMC** for Community Services

and Ward 4 Councillor

In terms of Overstrand Municipality's Third Establishment Amendment Notice of 28 May 2003, Overstrand is a municipality with a mayoral executive system combined with a ward participatory system. At its inaugural meeting, Council elects an Executive Mayor and a Deputy Executive Mayor, Legislation allows the Overstrand Executive Mayor to appoint a Mayoral Committee of six members, of which one normally is the Deputy Executive Mayor. Each of the members heads a Portfolio Committee, consisting of members of all political parties in Council. In Overstrand



Ward I Ald Dudley Coetzee (DA)



Ald Arnie Africa

(DA)

**MMC** for Corporate Services

and Ward 8 Councillor

Ward 2 Ald Theodorah Nqinata (ANC)



these committees are in line with the administrative directorates, namely: Municipal Public Safety, Community Services, Infrastructure Services, Planning & Development, Corporate Services and Financial Services.

Cllr Stephen Williams

(DA)

MMC for

**Financial Services** 

Ward 3 Ald Kari Brice (DA)



Ward 5 Cllr Bongiwe Nombula (ANC)



Ward 6 Cllr Vuyisani Bandeza (LP)



Ward 7 Cllr Hybré Lombard (DA)



Ward 10 Cllr Theresa Els (DA)



Ward II
Cllr Steven Fourie
(DA)



Ward 12 Cllr Masibongwe Sihlahla (ANC)



Ward 13 Cllr Charmaine Resandt (DA)



Ward 14
Ald Riana de Coning
(DA)



Cllr Clinton Lerm

(DA)

MMC for

Infrastructure Services

Proportional Ald Lindile Ntsabo (DA)



Cllr Andrew Komani

(DA)

MMC for

Municipal Public Safety

Proportional Cllr Msa Nomatiti (DA)



Proportional
Cllr Jacobus van Staden
(FF+)



Proportional Cllr Kholiswa Ngqandana (LP)



Proportional
Cllr Connie Tafu-Nwonkwo
(ANC)



Proportional
Cllr Malcolm Grimbeek
(FF+)



Proportional Cllr Siphiwo Beyi (EFF)



Proportional
Cllr Rugene Dees
(ACDP)

# The Administration



Municipal Manager Dr Dean O'Neill

A Municipal Manager is appointed by Council. He is the link between the council and the administration, of which he is the head, and also serves as accounting officer who has to account for the municipality's income and expenditure, assets and other obligations, such as proper adherence to the Municipal Finance Management Act. In terms of legislation, he should have the expertise and experience

to discharge his duties. Subject to the municipality's policy guidelines, he ensures, amongst others, that an economic, effective, efficient and accountable administration is established and developed, that the IDP comes to fruition, that municipal services are delivered in a sustainable and balanced fashion, that a personnel corps is appointed, managed, developed and disciplined and that sound labour relations are maintained. He should facilitate participation by the community and develop a system whereby the community's satisfaction with municipal services can be gauged.

# In Overstrand's case Dr O'Neill is supported in the above by a team of directors for the following:

- Infrastructure Services: Mr Stephen Müller
- Corporate Services: Mrs Desireé Arrison
- Financial Services: Vacant
- Community Services: VacantPlanning & Development: Vacant
- Municipal Public Safety: Mr Neville Michaels